Women, Food and … well…;) God. Spoiler Alert: It’s in the Journey

45_FULL

If you stumbled upon my short self-description on this site, you might notice that I call myself an agnostic (though often quite tempted by atheism). Accepting I don’t really Believe certainly wasn’t easy – and it still isn’t – but well… that’s another story. And yet I ordered and paid for a book named “Women, Food and God”. Indeed.

You should understand that whilst I am the most devoted reader of belletristic writings, I never felt the need to read any psychology books (they just tend to be sooo booooring), except the ones I used in my profession. Moreover, I have also never been the adept of applied psychology and self-help books. I confess looking down on them and thinking “that’s for helpless beginners and amateurs, I can very well lead my life on my own”. Oh, vanity…

True, so far you have read a list of apologies for reading Geneen’s book. And yet I read it and then I read it again and I frequently annoyed all my friends and colleagues quoting from and writing about it and the many breakthroughs I have experienced whilst reading it.

I read it as if it were a bitter pill. Bit by bit, page by page, somehow trying not to take in what it said. It’s not about food, as you might think. It’s about our relationship with our own minds, souls and bodies, about self-respect and love. If you replace the word food with any contemporary issue of human sufferings determined by destructive obsessions, its meaning will not be altered. It might be smoking or drinking or whatever. Just the same.

Well, those of you who are more accomplished in self-respect matters might not understand what is the big deal. Maybe I didn’t want to face some particular self-respect issues, so I chose to look the other way for a rather long time. Or maybe I knew some of those things, but chose not to think about them and Geneen’s book represented the ideal means to get in touch with them. Whatever. They just felt RIGHT. So right that they actually spoke to the innocent child in me and to the unspoiled not-yet-educated person, the instinctual being beyond post-graduate studies and training courses, to the core of my very being.

I’m not going to make a detailed description of Geneen’s book and its conclusions – for me, the journey was more important than that. I am still not buying the God / divinity thing, but I surely appreciate Geneen’s gifts for my well-being: she spoke to me about love, maturity and showing up in my own life and made me aware that there’s a place that is whole in all of us. The rest is up to me.

See more about Geneen’s books and read several of her interviews / articles here .

Image source: 1.

