Reflections on the coming new year

For the past few days I have thought more intensely about 2013 and even made some mental notes about my plans and wishes for the forthcoming year.

Looking ahead, here are some of my thoughts, but not just for 2013 or the last days of 2012. These are some inspirational quotes and words I try to live my daily life by, but they can easily pass for New Year’s resolutions as well. As you already know, I try to conduct a positive life and subscribe to as much zenitude as I can, so these little helpers have the gift to uplift my spirit and inspire me to follow my dreams.

I hope they will have the same effect on you too!

 

burn it down

~Burn it down – your ego that is~

“If you want to reach a state of bliss, then go beyond your ego and the internal dialogue. Make a decision to relinquish the need to control, the need to be approved, and the need to judge. Those are the three things the ego is doing all the time. It’s very important to be aware of them every time they come up.” – Deepak Chopra

~Belong to where you are and to who you are~

No matter what the trends say, no matter what the crowd does, don’t be a follower! Stand up for what you are and for what you believe in!

~Get real~

Stop being a people-pleaser, a yes-sir or a copy-cat. The world doesn’t need (more) Xerox copies but real, genuine people!

now or never

~Now or never~

If not now, when? Start living your dreams now, don’t postpone your plans anymore and whatever you do, don’t put your happiness on hold!

~Be a good one~

A dreamer, a believer, a sucker for love….Whatever you are, be a good one (Abraham Lincoln).

~Let it go~

Free yourself  from limiting beliefs. Let go of your misconceptions, your regrets, your fears and your sorrow.

~Be pure. Be simple and honest~

In the middle of the hustle and bustle of everyday life, stop for a moment and be kind. And be modest.

face your fears

~Face your fears~

“The only reason we don’t open our hearts and minds to other people is that they trigger confusion in us that we don’t feel brave enough or sane enough to deal with. To the degree that we look clearly and compassionately at ourselves, we feel confident and fearless about looking into someone else’s eyes. ” ― Pema Chödrön

love

~Love. Do what your heart tells you~

“Whenever I get gloomy with the state of the world, I think about the arrivals gate at Heathrow Airport. General opinion’s starting to make out that we live in a world of hatred and greed, but I don’t see that. It seems to me that love is everywhere. Often it’s not particularly dignified or newsworthy, but it’s always there – fathers and sons, mothers and daughters, husbands and wives, boyfriends, girlfriends, old friends. When the planes hit the Twin Towers, as far as I know none of the phone calls from the people on board were messages of hate or revenge – they were all messages of love. If you look for it, I’ve got a sneaky feeling you’ll find that love actually is all around.” – Love Actually

What are some of your New Year’s resolutions, dear friends? I would looove to get some more inspiration!

xx,

Clover

* Original image here.

 

