Go with the flow

276830708314456289d6tTfuIbc

I was talking to Clover the other day – we had one of our virtual editorial meetings (baby Clover participated, too, in a playful mood, with lots of joyful sounds and only one sock on 🙂 ). Clover dearest asked me what’s my vibe for 2013 and I answered that I felt the vibe of natural change and freedom. Discussing this particular vibe and its origins, I told her about a lesson I have learned at the end of 2012 about fear and panicking and the “dooooh” breakthrough I have had. And then Clover asked: why don’t you write a post about it? Great idea, indeed!

So here it is: I was given a new task at the office, which involved coaching a client on a certain matter – the client and the matter are not of the essence. However, it was a new situation for me, as I have been accustomed to dealing with clients who possessed at least as much knowledge as I did. So my reaction was the one I usually employed when faced with an event that took me out of my comfort zone: I accepted the task willingly, displaying the very image of eagerness, whilst on the inside I was slowly petrifying. As I was asking for the necessary information and some advice from my senior colleague, who stated plainly that she trusted me and that she was convinced of a positive outcome, on the inside I was gradually and stupidly sinking into utter panic. Guess on what particular day was the meeting scheduled… December 21st! I knoooow! Mental! And of course, as the doom day was getting near, I started over-analyzing and finding insurmountable obstacles everywhere.

fear_002

I was preparing for the meeting and at the same time, I entered that labyrinth of thoughts, going round and round like a little trapped mouse who keeps repeating “Oh, what am I going to do? What if I fail? What if I say something stupid? What if the client is not satisfied? What am I going to do?”

And then the “D” day arrived. I put on my smart business suit, my best make-up and read my files through and through, as though I could find salvation in the carefully written pages. As I waited in the meeting room for my client to arrive, my knees started shaking under the table, making my high heels rattle on the floor. Damn! The client came in, we shook hands, started talking and I got involved in the problem at hand. The next think I knew, one hour later, was that the situation was solved and that I had feedback which proved essential to my client. Don’t get me wrong, I will not be winning a Nobel prize for that meeting, and I certainly did not single-handedly stop the Mayan apocalypse but I did my job, helped my client and most importantly, I got through what I thought it will be an ordeal with flying colors.

f

So now comes the learning part. As you might have guessed, I have been through somewhat similar situations before and yet there I was again, hence apparently I have been a lousy student. I pondered on the causes of my failure to learn my lessons and I decided to approach the problem on paper, using the simple mnemonic schemes listed below:

FEAR = Forget Everything And Run

FEAR = False Evidence Appearing Real

Over-analysis = paralysis

LIFE= Live It Fully Everyday

therefore

The “doooooh” breakthrough – respectively the conclusions of my recent tribulations – consists of:

1. just jump into the water, will you!

2.go with the flow and see where it gets you

3. chill out, it’s not the end of the world (sic!).

I promise I will keep you posted about my progress on applying the respective lesson and schemes! And as the song  goes, the rest is still unwritten…

Love,

Venom

Image source, courtesy Clover: here, here  and here.

