Guilty Little Pleasures

top-secret1

 

Wake up, shower, put on some make up, run to the office and work like hell, resist pressure, ignore bossy colleagues, run some errands, hurry home and consider eating a late dinner or staying lean and healthy and just dab at a few lettuce leaves, get into the shower and remembering that I once again forgot to buy shower gel and realizing that there is no more tooth paste, go to bed. Repeat daily.  Well, several weeks of this and a trip to the psychiatric ward is 77% guaranteed.

So OK, let’s be open here: what would life be without those several (all riiight, more like a dozen) of guilty little pleasures? Who doesn’t have a secret list, shamefully hidden from the public eye, of things that make life easier and nicer in this manic, fast-paced world? You know, the ones that sometimes help us take the edge off a crazy day, when we are so exasperated by pressure and just feel like giving up and throwing a tantrum.

As I gave up smoking several years ago in my attempt to live a healthy life, my secret list comprises fairly inoffensive items. But as I couldn’t reveal my entire secret list (Gosh, imagine people knowing my temporary obsession for chick lit! ) on this blog without moving to a foreign country and changing my name, I decided to compile a more… respectable summary of my guilty little pleasures. So here you are:

 

6

 

  • TV series: They may not have earned an Emmy or another precious award, but they certainly help me get my Mojo back: Relic Hunter, Ghost Whisperer, Murder She Wrote, Castle, Diagnostic: Murder are on top of my list.
  • Harry Potter: what can I say, I’m IN LOVE with that world! It’s simply magic! 🙂
  • Mystery novels: Agatha Christie, Arthur Conan Doyle, Rodica Ojog Brasoveanu will always be on my favorites’ list. I have read them in my childhood and teen years, and rediscovered some of them in my early adulthood, finding new meanings and ideas in their artfully written pages. When I get my hands on a good mystery book I haven’t read so far I don’t need either sleep or food :).
  • Pastries (especially Danish and French – oh, don’t get me started!): Clover and I share this one and I so miss our brunches or impulsive mid-afternoon trips at Paul’ s on a busy crazy day at the office!

 

5

 

And as we have been talking about shared pleasures, Clover dearest and I also always enjoy a trip to the cosmetics and beauty section of drug stores and exploring book and stationery stores.

  • DIY: I am a maniac of hand-made projects – necklaces, brooches, bracelets, modifying and embellishing clothes, you name it! My latest obsession was knitting.
  • Pinterest: I’m addicted! It’s my collection of dreams, my deposit of ideas, plans, tutorials, recipes, so on and so forth.
  • Etsy: should I elaborate? I mean it’s just…. wonder-world! Clover is passionate about it, too!
  • Looking into people’s bathroom cabinets (oh, OK, now all my friends will know and they will seal their bathroom cabinets when I’m paying a visit).

Truth be told, these guilty little pleasures – a part of which now is no longer secret to the world – have helped me through some pretty rough days. I pamper and indulge myself , even though I know it’s puerile and that I should face life without crotches. But well, then… my purpose in life is not to be perfect :).

So friends, come out, what are your secret guilty pleasures?

Have a great week, everyone!

Love,

Venom

Image source: 1, 2, 3, 4,5, 6

 

