Working from home

Dear friends,

Here is a post I wrote some time ago on The Zen Project’s blog and wanted to share with you as well.

It’s a piece of writing that created quite a buzz after being published and I received plenty of positive feedback and appreciation from people who were either going to quit their jobs and follow their passions, or were already working from home and dealing with the same challenges as I was.

Take a look and tell me what you think!

Wishing you a great day ahead & a wonderful weekend,

Clover

 

laptopaszta1_1Photo by Balogh Orsi/ Image source here

Working from home: the good, the bad & the challenge

These past months as an entrepreneur-living-my-dream newbie have been beautiful, exciting, challenging, depressing at times and yet highly rewarding.

Today I wanted to share with you some of my personal ups and downs, highs and lows of working from home & being self-employed.

The Good

  1. I am my own boss (read freedom & independence, quality time & work-life balance).
  2. I am the owner of my time. That means that I can schedule my day with and around my family, including activities that I really enjoy, such as daily walks in the park, cooking delicious homemade dishes, playtime with my toddler and about two hours just for myself, while the little one is asleep.
  3. Breakfast & lunch dates with my sweet daughter every day
  4. Flexible office space & working hours (time is malleable & manageable)
  5. My work environment is 100% my reflection (from stationery to candles, to my beloved old chair, to my sometimes clutter-less desk & disorganized playlists & inspirational podcast)
  6. No/ hardly any compromise. Part of this great adventure of running my own business is setting my very own work frame, core values & procedures. In other words my business is…me – everything I love, everything I stand for, no social filters & no corporate constraints.
  7. Healthy nutrition & rest. I recently discovered the joy of having three proper meals per day, which was almost impossible in the past.
  8. Traffic jam? Rush hour? So passé! 🙂

Both Good & Bad

  1. No dress code. As much as I enjoy the comfort of my silky pj’s, I actually miss the ritual of getting ready for work. High-heels & red lipstick. Cropped jackets & vintage jewellery. My leather suitcase.
  2. No rules, less accountability. In the corporate world a verbal agreement & a handshake equal a contract. In the creative-artistic one, a given word is (most of the times) relative.

The Bad

  1. The social factor. I miss my co-workers. I miss having someone to talk to, take notes from, share ideas & information. I also miss brainstorming sessions, team spirit & the sense of belonging to a professional group/company.
  2. Unpredictability of monthly/annual income. That’s a biggie for me.
  3. Inspiration & (my) mood swings. Procrastination.
  4. Market fluctuation. Dealing and trying to anticipate ascending, descending & stationary trends.
  5. Personal involvement. There are nights when I stay up late writing endless to-do lists, planning and inevitably asking myself if I did enough that day. The answer is usually negative and gives me an instant headache.

The Challenge

  1. Focus & discipline (read organization skills, accurate task planning, realistic time management).
  2. Drawing boundaries. Avoiding distractions & temptations. No laundry folding while planning the future product launch. 🙂
  3. Commitment & self-motivation. Keeping my spirits high, my options open, my attitude casual.

Well, I think that’s about it. As you see, there are good parts and bad parts. There are both sunny mornings and grey afternoons. The important thing to ask yourself is “Am I happy?”, “Am I doing the right thing?”, “Does it feel good inside?”.

If your answer is “Yes”, like mine surely is, then it’s all worth it and you’re on the right path.

 

