Live as you please

Reflection on Life

 

Or should I say: “Live as you please… right now!”.

You see, we all go down this road: we plan our life ahead, we make lists and add daydreams to our mood boards, we organize and prepare in advance for what our life should be.  And then, when the moment finally arrives…we discover that we changed, that our current preferences don’t match the old ones, that we wish for something else.

Take this random example: I took one of those pointless quizzes on facebook (you know, the “What country/ color/ animal/ dessert are you?” kind) and discovered it to be actually interesting as it revealed some parts of me that I considered by now to be a certitude, not a variable. Ha! I was wrong! Turns out I’m actually not interested in living abroad, in France to be specific, as the quiz results confirmed.

I love my country and my life here, therefore regardless how exciting it all seems on paper (or on my computer screen)…in reality, I wouldn’t move there or anywhere for that matter.

Another question was: “What would you do if you won the lottery?”. Well, initially I thought I would leave everything behind and take my family and go travel around the world. Wrong again. With my little daughter by my side (she’s 2 years old now), I would most likely move for a couple of months to my parents’ cottage in the mountains and live a simple back-to-nature kind of life.  Or rent a house by the sea for the summer.

But no, I wouldn’t spend money on fancy cars, high-end hotels or luxury clothes. That’s just not me. Maybe that was me in my early twenties, but a decade later, this all seems so foolish and unimportant to me.

What else? Well, if I could choose, I would spend most of my days writing and creating jewelry, exactly as I am doing  now. I would spend most of my time with my family and watch my little one grow up.

So here it is: life is exactly as it should be, right now.

And to end this little Monday morning philosophical impromptu, here’s a quote I love from one of my all time favorite movies, The Hours: ” I remember one morning getting up at dawn, there was such a sense of possibility.

You know that feeling?  And I remember thinking to myself this is the beginning of happiness.  This is where it starts and of course there will always be more.  

It never occurred to me it wasn’t the beginning.  It was happiness. It was the moment. Right then.”

What about you, dear friends? Have you ever questioned what you wish for right now? Take all the possibilities and scenarios and share with me what would be your ideal life right now.

I hope you’ll discover that you’re actually living it or at least part of it.

Sending you lots of love,

Clover

 

* Image source here

