Just do it: shine your light

cassoday harder woman

cassoday harderImages by Cassoday Harder

 

There are times, when I sit alone in my improvised home-studio/ writing corner and can’t decide whether I should write something or do whatever (fold laundry, for example), not because I doubt my skills, but rather question the interest others may or may not have in that what I write.

Sounds familiar? Do you ever feel like there is this immense creative hunger and potential inside you, one that shows up every single day and keeps you up all night? But instead of feeding that inner creative fire, all you do is shut it off, ignore it, delay it and then feel miserable about it.

All those questions and unproductive thoughts: “What will others think?”, “Who am I to pretend to be a writer? Or a painter? Or a musician?” and then the final blow under the belt: “Why do it? Nobody cares anyway!”

 

thedenizencoImage by thedenizenco

 

I hear you. I’ve been there. One too many times. I’m still struggling with it as we speak.

But I’m a warrior (not a worrier 🙂 ), so I won’t leave a battle without fighting.

So my dear fellow warriors, here is a piece of priceless advice I discovered when reading this great, great book: The War Of Art by Steven Pressfield. If you haven’t read it yet, wait no more! This is a golden book.

If you recognize yourself in the above written paragraph, the one talking about worrying and being unproductive, of delaying and questioning your legitimacy as a creative person, this is for you – read it, print it out, read it once again.

And then just go do it! Shine your own light!

Are you a born writer? Were you put on earth to be a painter, a scientist, an apostle of peace? In the end the question can only be answered by action.

Do it or don’t do it.

It may help to think of it this way. If you were meant to cure cancer  or write a symphony or crack cold fusion and you don’t do it, you not only hurt yourself, even destroy yourself. You hurt your children. You hurt me.  You hurt the planet.

You shame the angels who watch over you and you spite the Almighty, who created you and only you with your unique gifts, for the sole purpose of nudging the human race one millimeter farther along its path back to God.

Creative work is not a selfish act or a bid for attention on the part of the actor.

It’s a gift to the world and every being in it.

Don’t cheat us of your contribution. Give us what you’ve got. (Steven Pressfield)

 

 

